Operation Consolidate Devices…

Has been a resounding success for the most part.  (Also some minor blog housekeeping notes.)

I just need to sell the iPad Mini 2 (hopefully at work this week).

The plan: Sell the iPad Mini 2 and the Macbook Air 11″ and go to only the following:

  • Desktop that my ex and I built. It runs Windows 10 right now; it’s run Windows versions 7, 8.1, and now 10, as well as varying versions of Ubuntu.
  • Dell XPS 13 that I bought in March. I got it from rich_h_ in #ubuntu-us-mi (the Ubuntu MI LUG group). It runs Ubuntu 15.04 and it’s the right balance of size, speed, and weight to transport home or to other places.
  • iPad Air 2 that I just bought to replace the Mini 2. It’s a sweet, skinny machine that runs iOS 8 and all of my apps blazing fast.
  • My phone which is a Samsung SIII. I am looking at other phones/plans possibly to update to next year sometime. It works and runs what I need it to.

I’ve sold the Macbook Air to a friend. Got a fair price for it.

So. Yes. I’m trying to have fewer devices to organize and take care of and keep updated. This will work in my favor, I do believe.

For the record, I’m keeping iOS, Ubuntu, Android (well this doesn’t really count), and Windows 10 up to date and running without any issues.

I will have a quick review or whatever about my impressions of the iPad, but honestly, it’s like the iPad Mini 2 except with touch ID and larger.  I dunno.  It’s a slim slab of glass that you touch to interact with it.  It’s great but there’s not a lot to really get into.

~~~~

Also, a short aside, I apologize for the double posts over here.  I was experimenting with Medium and I’d not pulled my IFTTT connection before I did that and… it posted the stuff I pulled over there.  I’m impressed with it as a writing and reading platform but it’s not really… extensible.  Like WordPress.  I dunno.  We will see… I might publish some stuff over there and have it cross post to here.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.