May 2014 Desk and Office Setup

I’ve not done a desk/office setup on here in a long time, so I figure it was overdue for a write-up.

A note: I still have the same desktop but I’ve upgraded my speakers, printer, scanner, and done some cleanup and organization.

Right-ho!  Let’s have some pictures!

2014-05-18 12.19.13 2014-05-18 12.19.21 2014-05-18 12.19.28 2014-05-18 12.19.42

This series shows the whole office.  Up top, you can see that I have the printer/scanner/backup drive/microphone all on a pretty sweet table I picked up at Staples for about $26.  This is a fold-able table that is height adjustable and would be great for an extra office work area or even a portable-ish game table for the living room.

Picture two is my storage for various things… games, notebooks, sketchbooks, filing (yes I’ll get to it), Linux manuals, and a CD holder.  This stuff doesn’t fit in the desk well and I don’t mind having it out and visible, so it’s fine.

Picture number three is my bookshelf.  I think I should do something to organize it a bit better but it’s fine for now.  Also yes, I have a radio because I don’t always want to stream.  Oh and a file cabinet I got from home for free!  (Thanks Mom!)

The last pic is a closer-up look of my desk.  I really like this desk; it’s comfortable and a good size.  I could go for a larger one, but this one is sturdy, comfortable, and has great storage in the drawers.  If I move, I might get a place with two more equal sized bedrooms and have a craft/project desk and a computer desk.  Right now that’s not going to work, but it’s something to look into for the future.  I’d need a new computer desk.

2014-05-18 12.19.51 2014-05-18 12.20.00 2014-05-18 12.20.07

This set of pics shows some of my peripheral awesomeness.  Picture one is an artsy-fartsy picture of my MaxKeyboard Blackbird TKL (brown switches) board.  I alternated between this one and a Ducky Shine Zero (black switches) full sized board.  I’m using the TKL right now for a different switch feeling and also for more room on the desk.

Picture number two shows a kind of artsy-fartsy shot of my Steelseries Sensei RAW mouse.  I love this mouse and I should have picked up a second one of these instead of the the Corsair for work.  Anyway, it’s super comfortable and for less than $50 you can’t go wrong ($44 on sale at Best Buy, woo!).

Picture three is the newest hardware to join my desk; JBL Jembe 2.0 wired speakers that sound decent.  They have an auto-off function that seems to annoy most reviewers on the best buy site but I don’t have a problem with them.  I replaced a $30 pair of Logitech speakers with these and I couldn’t be happier.  I wanted the Creative T20s but couldn’t justify dropping $100 on new speakers for my computer and driving down to Microcenter for them.  Maybe in a few years.  I don’t know.  I like the smaller form factor of the JBLs rather than the larger speakers.  My desk is small (I don’t have a lot of crap on it even!) and I just seem to like more clear space I guess.

As you can tell, I pretty much like neat and organized spaces.  I did minor pickup before these photos and I can’t be happier with my office.