HP Chromebook 11

My Macbook Air is having a drive problem right now that can’t be solved until the SSD drives are available for repair.  It’s kind of crappy for Apple to tell a customer when she tries to update that she needs a new hard drive and then not ship those hard drives to the repair centers.  So, I will be going back to Microcenter again when they come in to get the repair actually done.  It’s under a recall so I don’t have to pay for it.

In the meantime, because I can’t use the Macbook, I picked up a stop-gap HP chromebook.  I’m not sure how this will fit into my computing arsenal once I get my Air back, but we’ll see.

Anyway, I picked this up for $279.  Unexpected, but I really don’t want my Air to get damaged beyond repair and ruin any of the internals (I’m not sure if that can happen or not but I’m not taking a chance).

Also, NaNo is going on right now and I’ve missed the first week but I might be able to salvage part of the month with a new story that I’ve been thinking about.  I might work on it through next month too just because.

ANYWAY, I have some unboxing photos.

Firstly, the box.

HP 11" Blue Box
HP Chromebook 11″

I got the blue one, which is the only color they had.  The poor guy that was trying to help me couldn’t get the drawer open on the display and I felt bad for him.

Anyway, that blue stripe slid off to reveal a plain white box:

With the blue stripe off
With the blue stripe off

This is actually pretty classy packaging and it reminds me of the Macbook Air box that I did not have an unboxing for because I unboxed it at the airport.  Anyway, this is simple and without a lot of extra flair.  I like it.

I pulled out my knife and cut the tape and opened it up:

Box Open!
Box Open!

Wow simple.  I like simple.  The white is very clean and the stripe at the top is very understated.  My Macbook Air has more “flair” on it with the glowing apple on the lid.

And now for a pic with all of the stuff out of the box:

Everything out of the box.
Everything out of the box.

There’s the chromebook, a charger, a quick start card, and a guide that has several languages.

I was able to plug it in right away and boot it up.  The cord is a hair short; I’ve gotten used to the Macbook cord that has the brick with the removable extension.  Anyway, I logged in using my google account and most of the stuff I needed right away was there.  I had to add dropbox and a hangouts extension as well as an IRC program but I pretty much have a functional computer on par with what I had on the Macbook.

Some first impressions:

  • The keyboard is nice.  Really nice.  It’s not quite as good as the one on the Air and it’s nothing like my mechanical keyboard, but I sure can type on it, and fast too!
  • The trackpad is… usable.  It’s at least plenty big and supports two-finger scroll but the surface is a little rough.  Granted, I’m comparing this to the trackpad on the Macbook which are top of the line trackpads, but for the price, this is decent.  I turned off tap-to-click and reversed the scroll.  It’s actually pretty good for this price point.
  • The display is gorgeous.  Wow.  On par with the Macbook Air, clear, clean, bright.  Love it.  Shiny, but still usable.  I’d probably get a screen cover if I had to use it in direct sunlight.
  • There are a lot of apps available.  Don’t pay attention to the reviews that say there are “no apps”.  Go to the app store for Chrome and look.  There’s plenty; you just have to figure out which ones you can use on or offline and adjust accordingly for your particular usage.  Many of the reviews are from windows or mac power users that can’t fathom living in the cloud for more than a few files in dropbox.  Granted, I’m kind of that way as well but I’ll just have to adjust to this thing for the time being.
  • I like the way everything seems to work together: Android phone, Android tablet, browser on windows/mac/linux, and now this cloud computer thing.

Basically this is a great little machine to keep on the couch to look up information on or IM while you’re watching TV or blogging.  It’s not going to work if you don’t have access to the internet for a prolonged period.  If you don’t have access to the internet, I’d download your most precious files to a flash drive and then you can edit them offline and then re-sync later.

I will most likely go back to my macbook when it is repaired (because it’s more functional than this) but I will keep this around for when I go somewhere on vacation and might want to type up something.

Verdict: If you need something cheap and decent and not a lot of local storage and can deal with living in the cloud, get this.  If not, get an ultrabook/Macbook Air.  If your Macbook isn’t working right, get this as a backup and work in the cloud til it’s fixed.  It’s a recommend from me for specific uses.