Android App Series: gReader Pro

I know, I already reviewed Feedly, but I wanted something more “Google Reader” like so I decided to try this app out.

I initially tried the free version and it was awesome except for the ads along the bottom.  I still had some money left in my google play account (the absolute best way to deal with paid apps, in my opinion, but that’s another post) so I decided to “upgrade” to the paid version.

I’m so glad I did.

I don’t mind paying for apps.  It supports the development of great apps and it encourages the people behind the great apps to continue to update the apps and keep improving them.

Anyway, gReader Pro is a very good RSS app that has cloud Feedly support as well as The Old Reader syncing.  I use it to keep all my RSS feeds in line throughout my all my devices: Nexus 7, Samsung phone, and my computer (chrome browser on three systems).

Anyway, it’s got a great layout and is very easy to use.

Have a screenshot of the main page:

Screenshot_2013-08-06-21-09-24

This is what it looks like on my phone, the Samsung Galaxy Reverb.  It’s slightly bigger and whatnot on my tablet, but I’ll just be using the phone screenshots.

Hit “All Items” and get the following:

Screenshot_2013-08-06-21-10-06

 

You can press on an article to read it and from there, swipe from the right to the left to advance in the articles.  It’s very easy to use.

What I also like about it is that it has Evernote (through Everclip), Facebook, Twitter, G+, Pocket (Read it Later) and the Mobilizer in a quick menu that you get to with a tap on the article and then touching the “share” button.  Screenshot below:

Screenshot_2013-08-06-21-15-38

 

Tap any of those quick shortcuts and send directly from the app.   Unfortunately there is no “email” option, but you can use the menu next to it for that.

Anyway, if you want to check this app out, see the google play page here.  The Pro version costs something like $5 but that’s for the lifetime of the app and you shouldn’t have to pay again.  It’s not a subscription based service, so you don’t have to worry about being charged again.

 

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.