Android App Series: Swiftkey

Swiftkey is an app that I found that was touted by Lifehacker as the bee’s knees, so I had to try it.  I watched Lifehacker and pretty soon, it was on sale for something like $2 or $4; I cant remember.  So I picked it up.  I started using it on my old phone (an LG) and found that it was better in most ways from the stock keyboard as well as Swype.  So, I started using it more and more.

Cue my new phone.  This app was the first thing I installed, since I had gotten used to it.  It’s updated to v. 4, so now I have “flow” which allows you to slide your thumb around the board and spell out a word.  Swype has this, but it doesn’t seem to be as predictive as Swiftkey is, so I use the title app.

I’ve also installed it to my Nexus 7.  It works fine, although they want you to buy a special tablet version; if that version goes down in price, I would totally get it, but for now, the standard version works fine.

I find that the prediction is awesome and it can seem to figure out what I want to say before I say it.  Other than being a bit creepy (though all these apps and services might be considered creepy), I really like it.  I especially like it when I use the phone in one hand; like when I’m trying to carry my bag and reply to a text.

The following video seems to give a better show of what I’m trying to say.  I’m using a cool black and blue theme; I think it’s called holo.  Anyway, watch the video.

 

This is a great app and should be on everyone’s phone or tablet.  It’s turned into a “must have” for me, and I’m glad that Lifehacker featured it awhile ago.