Android App Series: Feedly

I love RSS.

And because of that love of RSS I was extremely sad when I saw the announcement that Google Reader was shutting down, but that’s neither here nor there as I don’t control Google and have no say in what they keep or get rid of in regards to webapps.

Anyway, I was using Feedly to sync my RSS feeds from Google Reader to my tablet and phone.  Now I’m pretty much using Feedly as my go-to app on all of my operating systems (Win7, Ubuntu, Mac, Android) to keep my RSS feeds in sync.

I really like this app.  It’s got an intuitive interface and is easy to navigate around in.  I imported all of my RSS feeds from Google, allowed it to sync over my home wifi for both my phone and my tablet, and ta-da, I had more stuff to read!

How about a screenshot of the web/browser interface?

Screenshot from 2013-04-06 17:54:35

Pretty clean and easy to figure out.  This is my start page which is the magazine “all” view.

Tablet:

Screenshot_2013-04-06-17-58-04

This is my “funneh” category (hee, category!) that has all my LOLcats and whatnot in it.  Again, very clean and easy to figure out.  I like this because there’s a quick menu in the story view and I can easily share to twitter or pocket or facebook immediately with no hassle.

Screenshot_2013-04-06-18-01-01

The phone interface is pretty much exactly the same except smaller.

Anyway, this is a great app if you want to read news on your smartphone or tablet.  One note, however: it doesn’t download the articles from the web for reading later; you will have to have a connection via wifi or 3g/4g in order to read articles.  If you want something that downloads your articles, look into Currents.

Great app, easy to use, and pretty fast; I’ve never had Feedly crash on me.

Unfortunately, if The Old Reader comes out with an android app soon, I will probably be switching over to it because the web interface is easier than Feedly for browser-based reading.