New Desktop!

Ahhh…

The joys of new hardware.

I’d been thinking of a new set-up every since I got my new job.

And… I have.

First some pictures, I think:

 The desk with the monitor on it and such.

The computer and printer..

This computer is a dual boot with Ubuntu Precise Pangolin and Windows 7.  Windows is for the games and Ubuntu is for everything else.

I’ve had no issues with either OS on this system, except for Windows just taking forever to update and reboot a bunch of times, but that’s normal.

Now for some specs:

  • Case: Antec 900. 4 fans of cooling.
  • Display: Asus… something.  It’s LCD, 1920×1080.
  • 1 TB Hard drive.
  • 8 GB of RAM.
  • Motherboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
  • CPU: Intel i5 3570K 3.40 GHz, 6MB cache.
  • Logitech speakers.
  • Logitech M510 mouse.
  • Microsoft 4000 keyboard.
  • Random DVD drive (it was like $20).

I don’t have a GPU as of yet.  We’ll see what I need as far as graphics go.

I probably have about $1000 into it, including the keyboard I bought and the monitor.  I’m liking it so far.  The motherboard has several USB 2.0 ports on the back and 2 hookups for the USB 3.0 on the front.  The case has 3, but if I decide to update the motherboard, then I’ll probably look for one that supports 3 USB 3.0 ports on the front.

Screenshot?  Screenshot:

So.  Here we go.  I’ll have a report about my mobile computing solution in another post!  I also might have a writeup about Precise in the near future too.  I’ve been using it for awhile and it’s really solid.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

4 thoughts on “New Desktop!”

  1. The neck-ache I try to reduce by angling my chair to face the monitor. That works. I really need a deeper desk. This desk is fine for now, but one that allows for me to spread out a bit would be better.

    Thanks! I’m planning on doing the GPU in a month or so… I need go figure out what GPU I actually want. Probably nVidia something, but we’ll see.

    I went with the slightly cheaper i5 because I did have a budget and I wanted to get a little more for my money; I didn’t think a low-end i7 was the best deal.

    Amy

Comments are closed.