New Beer

This time it’s “Solitude Abbey Style Ale”  by Vivant.

Interesting, to say the least.

This is a very smooth, malty beer that goes down like a good ale should.  You can see that it’s dark with a light brown, foamy head on it.  This is actually the second half of the can, as the whole thing didn’t fit in my glass!

A true pint, and a delicious one at that.

This beer is perfect for people who want something flavorful, malty, and easy to drink.  It has no “bite” like most IPAs do (and this is why I don’t like them).  It’s not too bitter.

Comfortable, I’d say.  It’s got a good mouthfeel, with no sour taste.  The end is bready, and I think I detect a hit of some sort of nut.

Anyway, this is yummy, and I recommend picking up a 4-pack from your local grocer.  I’m not sure if it’s only Michigan, or if it’s national, but it’s worth picking up if you like a bready style beer.  I do, and this is good.  It’s not something I want to chug, or something that I want more than one of in a sitting, but it’s something that’s to be savored.

Stars: 4.5/5

Notes:  Bready, malty, nutty.  Has a smooth mouthfeel.  I was maybe expecting something a little sweeter, that’s why it’s down a half star.  Overall?  Great.  Would buy again.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.