Gwibber vs. Choqok

And why I’m going with Choqok, even in Unity.

I upgraded to the new Gwibber.  For the most part, it’s great.  BUT, there are some really niggling issues I have with it.  List time!

  • I can’t access my lists.  Or, I don’t see an easy way to do this.
  • Slow.  So so so slow.  Once it starts up, it’s not bad, but it sometimes will hang my entire laptop.  I thought the updates were supposed to remove these issues.  Although they’ve been fewer recently.
  • Two clicks to reply to a notice.  Not a huge deal, but now I have to click on the twitter/statusnet icon and then click reply.

Now, only to be fair, onto what I like about it:

  • The new look.  Wow, looks great!
  • Ubuntu integration.  This couldn’t be better.
  • Speed improvements (note that this is under the issues as well… It’s in both because it’s better than it was, but not where it really shoiuld be.).

Now,even with all of the KDE libs, Choqok seems to run faster and easier on both my netbook and my laptop.  It has decent integration with my Unity desktop, goog.l shortening, pictures inline, and the ability to have my lists open so I can see what’s going on.  Oh, and now KDE apps seem to integrate better with Gnome because of QT, so that’s nice.

I really miss the easy-to-see lists feature that the old Gwibber had.  I wish they’d bring back the interface they had becuase it was awesome, and almost perfect.  Not necessarily the prettiest, but it worked really well.

I’m not saying “bring back the old interface” because that’s pretty much impossible right now, but maybe the devs could bring back some of its functionality.  I’m not sure what they wanted to accomplish with making the lists feature more hidden, but it’s made me kind of frustrated.

Now, I’ll go back to Gwibber.  For sure.  I’ll see if there are updates, and definitely give it another go when iti does update.  I’d love to have it working again the way I need.

For now, I’ll be using Choqok.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.