I’m playing with Gnome Shell

Actually, it’s kind of neat.  I’m figuring out how things “work”. It’s different.

I think I like it.

The computer that it’s installed on will be staying here at my mom’s house til I move to my apartment, so I won’t have a lot of time to play with it.

What I like:

  • The overlays and the shiny.  It’s quite pretty.
  • The default wallpaper.  Very cool.
  • Full screen apps.  Lots of space for work and reading (though this is a netbook, so I have less space than I do on my regular computer).
  • Notifications; they’re down at the bottom, so they stay out of the way.

What I don’t like:

  • So much is hidden.  I’m trying to figure out where my desktops are and everything.  I’ll get it; it’s just different.
  • Settings; I haven’t figured out all the settings.
  • Speed.  It seems a little slow, but I only have 1 gig of RAM, so I don’t have a lot to complain about.

I haven’t had time to play with it a lot, since I installed it last night around 10 pm.  I’ll give it another shot next weekend and try to use it all weekend next weekend.

Do note that Gnome3 is being run on my Starling netbook, 1 gig of ram, Atom processor.  I’m running it on top of Xubuntu 11.10.  I still have to see the new things in Xubuntu 11.10.  I don’t think a lot has changed, but I’m sure there is something.

Anyway, I’ll have a longer write-up when I play with Gnome3 more, and when I play with Ubuntu 11.10 more.  I quite like it so far; it’s speedy and pretty.  I’ll write a review sometime this week.