Mark Shuttleworth » Blog Archive » Dash takes shape for 11.10 Unity

Media_httpwwwmarkshut_balry

Oh. My. God.

So. Pretty.

Now that my Ubuntu fangirling is out of the way, I wanted to post this to my Posterous, so I actually have something on it.

Well. I see what Mark is getting at here. The idea of “scopes and lenses” is a brilliant one. I’m looking forward to the new panel, the new dash, and this whole glassy look. I like simple clean styles like this, and this is a really nice evolution from what Ubuntu was in 6.06 when I was using it (more) regularly (I used 5.04 or so, but not as much as Dapper).

Some people may not like this new way of dealing with the desktop, but I think an integrated search and inherently simple interface is a great way to differentiate Ubuntu and Linux from Windows.

Yeah, it’s kind of Mac-ish, but Apple has some nice things going on with it’s interface. Bring the best things over from Windows and from Mac and make Ubuntu better than both of them.

I’m just completely wowed by this picture. It’s amazing. Don’t forget to read the link under the picture for what Mark Shuttleworth thinks.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.