Ubuntu 11.10 Says Goodbye to the ‘Me Menu’ | OMG! Ubuntu!

Media_httpcdnomgubunt_qkdim

Please read the article at OMG!Ubuntu linked under the picture for details.

This is a great idea; it condenses down the top bar, and makes it easier to log into chat.

I also second getting rid of the “post to” section. Partly because I never saw a reason for it. I mean, I go right to gwibber and type my message there. Having too many places to type messages is confusing for users.

I don’t use it to set IM status, but it makes sense to set status from the messaging menu rather than the me menu.  I might actually use this to set status; I can see how it’d be handy when empathy is on a differnet desktop.

I also like the idea of hiding it. Some people don’t want the envelope there because it doesn’t fit with their workflow; they should be able to hide it without having to completely remove the message menu via the package manager.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.