Looking at 11.04 Natty/Unity – Good or bad? « OpenBytes

Certainly more so in the past, I’ve seen a select few regarding Ubuntu for “newbies, newbs, lamers” et al.  In todays Linux world I think this elitism exists only in rare circumstances.  Its completely silly too, just because Ubuntu wants to assist in setting up your system and get you up and running as quickly as possible does not make it “for newbs” I know many very experienced Linux users who favour Ubuntu purely because they have better things to do then mess about with their OS just to become functional.  Anyone can install proprietary drivers, its simple, but if Ubuntu takes that task away by automating the process, I’m all for it.  There was a time where I enjoyed the challenge of getting one of the more “exotic” distro’s functioning on my system, but now with several projects on the go, what I want in a new distro is to be up and running as quickly as possible.  I’ve deployed (and used off and on) Ubuntu since 8.04 and can happily say that this has always been the experience I’ve had.

This is one of the reasons why I use Ubuntu. Granted, there are always going to be issues with software ($deity knows that I have plenty of issues with Windows), but that’s not always the underlying issue with the OS.

I guess I just want my blankity-blank stuff to work. Ubuntu “just works” and I don’t have to mess with goofy drivers, or strange software, or anything else. Especially now, since I’m running hardware that was designed for Ubuntu in mind.

Anyway, I just want stuff to be decently configured so I don’t have to spend a ton of time getting everything the way I like it. I used to spend lots of time “tweaking” my desktop, but now I’m more than happy with the default configuration of Ubuntu and Unity. Ambiance and Radiance are both beautiful and come with Ubuntu.