No, The PC Market is Not Dead.

Is the PC market really dead?

Short answer: No.

Long answer: 

No, because there will always be a hobbiest element to computing, and you can’t be an iPad hobbiest.  Seriously, that internet appliance is so locked down, I’m surprised that it doesn’t have a chain connecting it to Apple headquarters in Cupertino.  Oh, it does; it’s called iTunes and the app store.

Tablets (I’m talking about the iPad here) are new and shiny, but you still need a PC (running Windows) or Mac to initialize them with iTunes.  I’m not sure about the Android powered ones, but I’m sure you need to connect them to your computer to move files over and whatnot.  So you still need a traditional computer, whether that’s a laptop or a desktop.

I will hold onto my laptop and netbook for awhile.  I doubt a tablet would work for me.

I never really saw how I could do stuff like spreadsheets/wordprocessing on a tablet, but I can see doing artwork on one.  It’s really hard to work with the Gimp and a mouse, but creating art with a tablet device would be very cool.

I guess my issue with the current round of tablets is that they’re just appliances for media consumption.  You can’t customize them, you can’t control what you get through filters/extensions and whatnot on the browser… and it seems like you need to get an “app” to access various parts of the web.  And those “app” coders can serve advertisements and you have no control over whether you see them or not.  That’s a serious problem for me; I will not allow a website free reign over my computer to serve ads to me.  It’s one of the reasons why I use an adblocker.  I’m not opposed to some ads; the google text ones aren’t bad.  I’ll also pay for content and services (see: This is True, deviantART, pinboard) that I support.

Anyway, I hate it when people claim something is dead.  Physical media, TV, radio, newspapers, books, pencil and paper, and playing cards are all decidedly not dead.  I use them every day.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

3 thoughts on “No, The PC Market is Not Dead.”

  1. You made a very good point in that tablets are, for the majority of the population, media consumption products. There are very few ways in which you can contribute quality information from a tablet unless you know what you are doing or are very pacient. I have the Xoom and the biggest issue for me is that people are making these huge websites with a lot of great looking stuff but they run slow on my tablet that has arguably more power than a mini. A good example is DeviantArt. While their main site will run fairly well on the Xoom they have still made and maintained a slim and usable mobile site that isn’t lacking in features but rather just gives you just what you are looking for and an easy way to navigate to or post coments easily.

  2. I also forgot to mention this very site. The mobile page doesn’t allow for commenting but the full site has some kind of javascript that is running and is making my typing very slow as there is a delay from when I press a key and when it shows on screen. People just aren’t looking at phones and tablets in the right mind to make them a major player in computing even though they do have the power now.

  3. That’s an interesting point, about the power of the tablet vs. the netbook or computer.Regarding the typing, that’s one of my biggest beefs with that sort of interface. Also, I have no feedback from the touchscreen when I press a button, unlike when I press a button on my keyboard.Tablets have a place. I think that place is displaying information (a la ebook reader or a display for patient information for a hospital).Thanks for the interesting thoughts!

Comments are closed.