Natty Beta: Xorg using excessive CPU? Try this.

For some reason, I was having massive spikes of my CPU which rendered my computer almost completely unusable.

Well, I filed Bug #751477 on Launchpad, and got a response that I didn’t like; basically saying that it wasn’t Xorg’s problem.  I fumed and grumbled for a few minutes, then decided to actually investigate the problem.

I went to their wiki, which wasn’t much help, but then I decided to look into my nVidia card.  Well, it turns out that using the binary drivers can cause the exact same problem.  So, I installed the nouveau drivers (after accidentally uninstalling the nVidia ones, and some other issues), enabled them, and rebooted.

Well, that actually took care of the problem.

Steps:

  1. Install Nouveau drivers (through Synaptic or Software Center)
  2. Open the “Additional Drivers” dialogue
  3. Enable the “Experimental 3D support for NVIDIA cards” option (see picture below)
  4. Reboot.

Additional_drivers_004

Additional Drivers dialogue.

It’s now working; hopefully the binary drivers will be working when Natty releases.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.