The problem with Gwibber: Tyler Rant (My Thoughts)

The problem with Gwibber Tyler Rant.

Ok.

There are too many comments to really post much more to the original article, so I’ll comment here.

I like Gwibber. I’ve been using it since it first came out and I started using microblogging services (twitter, identi.ca, etc).  It’s had problems and growing pains, but that’s expected with a new piece of software that is working with new technology (that’s always changing, btw; twitter changes its API all the time).

Complaining in a blog post is not necessarily the best way to deal with a program’s issues.  I’m not going to say Gwibber doesn’t have issues (I’m running the daily-ppa) but I think the program is excellent.  It allows me to interact with twitter, my status.net cloud instance, facebook, friendfeed, and buzz (coming soon!) and not go to those websites.

The only other program that I find to be this comprehensive is Tweetdeck.  And, it has issues of its own; sort-of support for status.net and no posts over 140 characters.

Anyway, maybe Tyler should have installed the daily-ppa?  The development of this software is at a breakneck pace; I see new versions of gwibber coming out almost, well, daily.  Also, reporting and confirming bugs is another way to help out the project.  I’ve been steadily reporting bugs on Gwibber (and other packages I use) to improve the user experience.  Some of my issues are in part of the way I use it.  I have a lot of accounts that eat a lot of processing power sometimes.  It seems that the memory leaks have been addressed recently; Gwibber isn’t taking up as much of my processor as it was previously.

I thoroughly disagree with this:

When it comes to basically all Ubuntu Twitter apps, there is no benefit, but plenty of drawback. There is no benefit whatsoever in using Gwibber except that it aggregates from multiple sources. But it doesn’t even do that particularly well. The fact that Person A writing on Person B’s wall looks, in Gwibber, to simply be a status update makes it more or less worthless. The fact that trying to view a twitpic picture requires opening a browser anyway, kinda defeats the purpose anyway.

There is plenty of benefit.  I can see what’s going on in the twitter/dent-verse without going to those sites.  I don’t have to keep a browser window/set of tabs for only those sites.  I can send thoughts quickly to all my accounts without going to each site or to ping.fm.

Re: twitpic; yes, this functionality is in the latest daily build.  Re: facebook wall-to-wall; how should this be fixed?  Digging up old posts with sub-posts?  I’m not sure how this would work.  Anyway, you can always click on the time-stamp  link and see what’s going on.  This is what I do for Facebook.

I use Gwibber so I don’t have to go to the web interface to get basic functionality.  Adding in the ability to subscribe to users and all sorts of other things would make the program too heavy, in my opinion.

Gwibber isn’t perfect, but really, are any other programs perfect?

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

4 thoughts on “The problem with Gwibber: Tyler Rant (My Thoughts)”

    1. You’re welcome. I found your tumblr via the comments on the OMG!Ubuntu! article I wrote about.

      It’s just what I think. I didn’t read the edited article (before Tyler fixed his typos) but I understand it was rather inflammatory. He probably should have proofread a bit before posting. :)

      Glad you found my blog. It’s always nice to have another reader.

      Amy

  1. One other thing with the ubuntu releases to note is that each version once released only gets security fixes not new versions of software. With that to remain on the bleeding edge the end user must use PPA’s from Launchpad to keep their popular software updated.

    But there is two sides to this, the amount of work to keep all the applications up to date is huge, hence the reason of software freeze per release. Yet from the end user point of view the lack of keeping the base applications up to date is frustrating. I see this from the point of view of a Debian package maintainer when the version of an application available in the ubuntu repositories has been updated for a number reasons and you get bug reports for something that has been addressed, this is the the reason Launchpad is there for the developer, but this is not made clear to the end user from the beginning.

    So the best way to address this is what? remembering that ubuntu is trying to be user friendly and a simpler alternative to other distributions. My thought is to try to write a howto and submit it to the ubuntu documentaction team and see how you go.

    1. I agree with all of your points.

      I guess my point was that Tyler should have installed the *latest* version of Gwibber before complaining about it. He should have also looked for bugs on Launchpad and said something like “I have {this} issue with Gwibber, but it’s being addressed in {this} bug”. I try to do this when I’m grumpy about a piece of software and before spouting off in a blog post. Sometimes a “is {this} happening to anyone else in !gwibber” post on the dent-verse is enough to get a satisfactory answer; many people point out bugs that have been filed and I can go add a “me too” to it as well.

      Ubuntu really has the best of both worlds as far as stability and bleeding edge go; we can have a simple, up-to-date system with no PPAs, or we can install PPAs for bleeding edge software, test, update more frequently, and file bugs. The second instance is how I run Ubuntu.

      Amy

Comments are closed.