New Digg, Reddit, and Mixx

Ok, if any of you readers follow my twitter/status.net feeds, you know that I go through a lot of news and I like to share that news with the people who follow me on those services.

I was using Digg as my main news aggregator, but I’m exceedingly unhappy with the new version. They’ve removed user RSS feeds (the RSS feed of my submitted/dugg articles) and replaced it with following people on the site. That’s fine, but I want to be able to use an RSS feed for specific use (Tumblr).

I’ll keep my eyes on Digg, but I’m not holding out a lot of hope. I feed my news consumption into a Tumblr so it’s easy to follow what I’m reading/recommending without having an acount on every single news website.

Also, I’m having some serious issues staying logged in. I’ll click their “remember me” checkbox and I come back, and I’m logged out. Seriously? This wasn’t a problem on the old site. I have issues loading pages and loading profiles. For a site as large as Digg, this should have been taken care of before it was rolled out to everyone.

Digg has changed so you can auto-submit your content. I find this to be a problem, because it’s going to become just another content provider aggregator. I can go to Twitter for that. I want to see what the community has dugg and what they think is interesting, not what a bunch of companies what to show me.

I’ve moved to Reddit. Reddit is and isn’t my favorite place, because of the community. Some community people have the same attitude as Slashdot commenters; grumpy old people. Seriously. Is it necessary to be like “this was submitted THREE TIMES, OMG, I had to look at it three times, use the search function!!!”? Somtimes I submit from google reader, and I don’t search before I submit. Maybe they need to fix the dupe handler?

I like the different subreddits. I like being able to submit things to “Ubuntu” instead of just “Technology”. Being able to whittle down where something goes is very important to me; I think Reddit was created by engineers!

I also like the way reddit looks. It’s very simple and easy to read. Some would call it busy, but it’s news, and ways to vote up and vote down the stories. Really, that’s all one needs.

I’ve also been working with Mixx recently and I like it as well. It’s not as big or as popular as Digg or Reddit, but it’s got a very nice setup as a combination of a news aggregator and a social news website. I really like the way it’s set up, but it’s kind of slow on getting news.

I’ll be usiing Mixx and Reddit til Digg fixes their user RSS issue. I want to be able to feed everything to my Tumblr. We’ll see how this pans out.

1 thought on “New Digg, Reddit, and Mixx”

Comments are closed.