Folk Music Festival

Wow.

Had an amazing day today.

Hung out in the morning and relaxed and had a late lunch.

Then my mom and I went to the Folk Music Society of Midland’s Dulcimer Festival at the Midland fairgrounds.

Wow.  We saw lots of different acts.  There were only a couple of duds but you kind of have to take it in stride.  I like listening to different folk music, and I especially love dulcimer music.  The hammered dulcimer is a precursor to the piano and played with little hammers that you hit the strings with, and the mountain dulcimer is strummed.

I love Muzyka, the Jolly Hammers and Strings, Doug Berch, and Off the Wall.  Amazing music and fun.  We left about 8:30 pm because we were tired and our posteriors were getting sore from sitting on our lawn chairs.  I can only sit in one spot for so long and we’d been sitting there since about 2:30 pm or so, with a brief break at 5 for dinner at Applebees (within walking distance).

I picked up a CD by Mustard’s Retreat called The Wind and the Crickets.  It’s country, folk, and Celtic music.  Very nice blend of music.  I also picked up a CD for my mom for her birthday.  :)  I’m sure she’ll love it.

The only bad thing was that it was incredibly hot.  About 86F, but with a decent breeze.  The sun was on my back through the early evening and made me kind of too warm.  It felt nice to come home in the air conditioning though!  :)

I had fun today, and if you’re in Michigan the last weekend in August, make sure you check out the Dulcimer Festival.  Oh, bring your own lawn chair, even if you stop by Home Depot beforehand and pick up a $10 one.  There are metal folding chairs there, but they are very uncomfortable to sit on for an extended period of time!  My mom and I forgot to bring lawn chairs the first year we went, and every year since, we’ve remembered our folding lawn chairs.  We can sit for a much longer time.  Oh, another thing you need to remember is an umbrella and a sweatshirt.  Seriously; it’s been rainy and cold before.  One year it was just cold  (we had a strange cold snap in late August) and last year it poured with a massive thunderstorm.  It’s all inside, but you want to be prepared to go from your car to the building.  Downpours in latesummer in Michigan can be wicked!

Edited to include some links to the bands we saw.