Rants, Computers, and Some Good News

Well the title says it all.

~Rants~

Well, can anything else go wrong?  This is usually a bad question to ask, but it seems that everything goes bad at once.  Forgive me while I put my ranty-pants on for a sec.

  1. The car has a dead battery. Or at least I think so.
  2. The netbook has a battery that’s not charging the way it should be.
  3. The laptop’s internal hard drive died.  Lost 4 ripped CDs, my saved games and my Windows partition.  I’m glad I did a backup of my /home on the Sunday before it totally died.  I would have been in tears for a week if I’d lost everything.

Grumble.

~Computers~

Well, I managed to get a hard drive from my brother to replace the one that click-clacked itself to death.  I’m pleased with it so far, but I’m not pleased with the amount of space; only 200 gb.  It’s working just fine.  I’ll probably end up getting a 500 gb drive sometime and upgrading.  I want 100 gb to devote to Windows 7 so I can keep my skills current, as well as test things like Flock and play games.  I’d like to play some more Sim City 4 and The Sims, as well as World of Goo.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do about the netbook battery.  I posted something to the Ubuntu Forums, but I don’t know if I’ll get any help.  It’s taken about a day and a half to charge.

Unacceptable.

~Some Good News~

I got a call today from a recruiter about an interview.  So I have a phone interview with a company that does plastics processing and whatnot.  The job is for a Product Engineer, which is something I really want to do.  Sounds good, and I hope it works out.  It’s in Ann Arbor.  Not a bad place to live, and I’m not too far from home.  What I’m looking forward to is paying off my car.  Probably that’s what my first thing I’ll “buy” if I get the job. I’d love to get that taken care of so I don’t have to deal with it and worry about it.

So, wish me luck.  I hope something happens with this.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

5 thoughts on “Rants, Computers, and Some Good News”

Comments are closed.