Death of my hard drive

Ok.

My laptop is currently back from the dead (does that make it a zombie? but I digress…) with a new hard drive.

Well, a new old hard drive.

The story:

Earlier this week, I was in Windows running some updates and stuff and generally just browsing. We went to lunch around noon and I came back to a black screen and this error:

Intel UNDI, PXE-2.1 (build 082)
Copyright (C) 1997-2000 Intel Corporation

For Realtek RTL8111B/8111C Gigabit Ethernet Controller v2.0 (071105)

Client MAC ADDR: 00 90 F5 91 CC FC GUID: 0090F591-CCFC-000-000-000000000000
PXE-E53: No boot filename received

PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE ROM.
Operating System not found

How can the operating system not be found? This computer had two operating systems on it (Ubuntu and Windows 7) and I know it was working before I went to lunch. Ok, it was time for some troubleshooting.

I booted to a LiveCD and checked in Gparted. My main hard drive wasn’t detected at all. It was like I had pulled it out of the computer. I rebooted and checked my BIOS. No hard drive at all. I reseated it, and ran the same tests (BIOS check, LiveCD) and noticed that it started clicking when I did a startup. Not good.

So I submitted a note to the Ubutu forums that maybe System76 could help me out. I was directed to send them an email, which I did.

Ok, so it turns out that it’ll cost about $170 to replace the drive. I politely declined service, as I can replace the drive easily on my own. I know I was out of warranty, but I thought I could at least get a drive from System76 as it was a replacement from November of last year.

Price comparision: I can replace the drive with a 500 gb one from Newegg for between $60 and $80.

I’m working fine with this 200 gb drive from my brother. I’d like to get a 500 gb drive so I can devote 75-100 gb to Windows 7 (just so I have plenty of room to install games and stuff).

I’ll still recommend System76 as a vendor if you need laptop hardware. It’s too bad they won’t even take my old drive back to get some of their money back though. This is still a great computer, and runs well. My warranty had run out (just barely though) and I understand that they can’t do any “free” work on it. Makes sense.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

3 thoughts on “Death of my hard drive”

  1. did you use a UPS? or power stabilizer? as i know, hard drive is very sensitive, that even just a little electric instability could cause short circuit.

    1. No and no.

      I didn’t even think of that, but I to shut my power strip off when I’m not using the laptop. I also pull the battery when I’m not using it.

      Would either of those cause a problem?

Comments are closed.