Email Shill

Got an email from one Mary Ann Rementilla:

Hi,

E-readers – Reading a book will never be the same again. I will miss the days where I ran my fingers through every page and the anticipation and wonder, that one single book has to offer.

Nonetheless, I’m writing to you on behalf of Starbucks. They’ve recently introduced a brand new flavor to their lineup – Vanilla Frappuccino Light. This rich beverage contains 50% fewer calories and 60% less sugar than their classic Vanilla flavor, making it that much easier to justify the indulgence!

In our busy lives, it’s hard to remember to stop and take a moment to ourselves every once in a awhile. Our new campaign with Starbucks is about indulgence and encouraging people to cherish their personal moments, whether it’s curling up with their favorite book or tucking their kids to bed.

Every Monday, we’re asking our blogger friends to post an image dedicated to the time in the past week that they were able to sneak away from their hectic life for a bit of relaxation – even if only for 5 minutes. It could be a photo of yourself, an illustration, a picture of your cat- anything.  

Your Monday Moment post doesn’t necessarily have to have anything to do with Starbucks, but the drink might help you to find that special moment!

Let us know we’d love to send you some Frappuccino Light to try out. I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,
Mary Ann

*At YouCast we support ethical blogging, WOMMA best practices, and strict adherence to the new FTC guidelines pertaining to free samples and gifts.  Participants in our campaigns are expected to do the same and we are here to assist and guide you as needed.

Mary Ann Rementilla
Community Manager
YouCast Corporation
401 Fifth Ave. 4th Floor
NY, NY 10016 USA
em. mrementilla@youcastcorp.com
W3. YouCastCorp.com

Nice.  She wants me to whore out my blog for a shitty Starfucks Frap.  All I can say is NO WAY.  This blog is advertising and sponsor free.  Anything I write about is MINE, not some company’s.

Ethical blogging my arse.  You can’t blog ethically about something you got for free.

Besides, I don’t like vanilla frap. Blech.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

4 thoughts on “Email Shill”

    1. Thank you. I wasn’t sure what response I’d get from this post, but I was rather off-put by her email.

      This blog will remain advertising and sponsor free for the life of it. That’s one of the reasons I moved from Livejournal… unless you paid for the blog/service, you had ads at the top or along the side. I paid for a year, but got tired of its rather unprofessional look, so moved to WordPress.com.

      I guess since my blog is getting this type of response (not the response I want, really) it must be “getting popular” if you will. Interesting.

      Amy

  1. I like coffee but nothing sold in Starbucks matches my definition of coffee. They serve some vile, nasty stuff. I’d prefer to go to (a popular fast food chain) where the coffee isn’t really any better but at least they don’t charge you a premium price for the nasty stuff (or try to con you into doing their advertising).

    1. Starbucks is ok. Only ok. Most of their coffee drinks are massively expensive, and the coffee tastes burnt. McDonald’s coffee is burnt as well.

      I prefer Tim Horton’s or an actual restaurant. The best coffee I’ve ever had was at Holiday Inn in Michigan. The one in Alpena has coffee to die for, as does the one in Marquette. What I’d give for a cup of their smooth, delicious, organic coffee.

      Note: Feel free to mention brands you actually like in the comments. I didn’t like this lady’s tone and expectation of me to whore my blog out for Starbucks.

      I appreciate the support I’ve gotten from my twitter and status.net friends. :) This is one of those things I feel very strongly about.

      Amy

Comments are closed.