Flock, and Features I Would Like to See

Ok, here’s a shout to the Flock devs.

I’d like to see some new services.  I’ve hoped for (some of) these services for about year now.  Here we go…

Tumblr

Tumblr is a great blogging and mini-blogging platform.  It’s got some great features (namely an awesome community and ease of posting) and has a rather robust API.  Not that there are a lot of apps that work with Tumblr, but I’d like to see the blogging aspect be supported.  Maybe add a bookmarklet functionality withiin Flock so you can easily add pictures, links, music, etc into your blog.  Also, being able to see what the people you’re following are posting without going to the site, although Tumblr is very well organized.

Identi.ca

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  I’d like to see identi.ca added to the microblogging line-up.  It’s free, open-source, and has mega-features.  Even if they just supported Status.net, that would be a setp in the right direction.  I could then run identi.ca through the status.net protocol.  Identi.ca uses a similar API to Twitter, so this shouldn’t be too difficult to implement.

Friendfeed

Friendfeed is another great micro-blogging site that also aggregates your blog, music, and other feeds through RSS.  I’m not sure how easy it is to work with the API.  There are apps that use it (like Gwibber).

Posterous

Posterous is another mini-blogging site similar to Tumblr.  It’s simple to work with through email, but if it had some browser integration, it’d be even better.

LinkedIn

This would be a neat addition, but isn’t really required.  LinkedIn makes it easy to connect with people in industry.

~~~~~

The biggest ones I’d like to see added are Tumblr and Identi.ca.  Add those, and I’ll be happy beyond belief.  I might use my browser for more microblogging then.

Blogged with the Flock Browser