Update: Desktop Wiki

Original post here.

I’ve decided to switch to Zim.

I figured out how to set up my hierarchical lists!

You do it as such:

:Parent:Child

Laugh if you wish, but I figured it out… @sndchaser on identi.ca showed me a picture of his desktop, and I saw at the bottom of his Zim session, there was that same syntax.  I started using it, and found that it worked perfectly!

It was a “duh” moment.

*shakes head*

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

3 thoughts on “Update: Desktop Wiki”

  1. Hi, I’ve been using Tomboy (1.0.0, sync’ed in Dropbox), and recently decided to give Zim a try, but didn’t manage to export the Tomboy notes to Zim with the tzim.py script. I always get the “no note files” error. I even tried moving the notes to the default dir (~/.tomboy) and press Return when queried, but still it gives the same error. Did it work out for you?

    Thanks!

    1. I actually did a cut and paste operation (for each note). I didn’t have a lot of notes (10? 15?) but more than that will cause a headache.

      You can export each one of your notes to html, but I don’t think that will help you much.

      I’ve never tried that script. What exactly does it do?

      Amy

      1. I thought you used some tool to migrate your notes… I have over 100, so manually copying them is a bit of a drag :) Well, when I’ll be really bored, I’ll move a couple of notes (it’s not very urgent anyway).

        The script is supposed to convert the Tomboy notes to Zim format (I got it from http://zim-wiki.org/extras.html ). It creates the text files and translates XML markup to wiki. Maybe Tomboy just changed since the last revision of that script (which was in 2008).

        Thanks anyway!
        Stefan

Comments are closed.