New Speakers: Cyber Acoustics CA-3080

I have a vase speaker for my laptop with the Ubuntu logo on it (Love it) but I wasn’t getting a nice, deep sound out of it.  If I hook up a pair of decent headphones (even earbuds) the sound is incredibly awesome.  I think I have a decent sound card in this laptop.

I decided to get a new pair of speakers (the vase one is more portable if I’m working in the kitchen) so I have some deeper and less tinny sound.

Anyway, the speakers were all of $35.  They’re not anything comparable to a hifi, but they’re not supposed to be.  It’s a 2.1 system with two satellites and one sub.  I have no need for anything more.

Below is a picture of what they look like:


Cyber Acoustics CA-3080 speakers (iPod not included, unfortunately).

Setup was a cinch.  A couple of plugs, hook to my computer, and blamo! it’s set up.

I had a little more difficulty setting up the bass just right.  I had to balance the bass with the volume coming out of my computer so I didn’t have massive distortion.  Turns out I need the volume on the computer set to about 75% and the sub set at about 40%.  I don’t need wall shaking bass, just enough to know it’s there.

I’ve got the speakers set on the desk to slide easily back and forth when I slide the laptop back and forth to accommodate what I’m doing (writing with a pen, typing, using reference material, etc).

~~~~

Specs:

System Power Output:
18 watts total system peak power
8 watts total RMS
Satellites – 1.8 watts/ch x 2 @ 4 ohm – 10% THD
Subwoofer – 4.4 watts @ 4 ohm – 10% THD

Drivers:
Satellites – 2″ dynamic, 4 ohm drivers
Subwoofer – 4″ poly carbon high excursion driver, with ported wood enclosed cabinet

Cables:
Cord to source and satellites
Complete cable assembly included for immediate setup
Chrome 3.5mm plugs

Power:
AC adapter included; UL/UCL approved

Dimensions:
Satellites – (H) 7.00″ x (W) 2.75″ x (D) 2.75″
Subwoofer – (H) 7.75″ x (W) 6.00″ x (D) 6.75″

~~~~

All-in-all, these are a decent set of inexpensive speakers to hook up to your laptop or desktop for listening to MP3s, podcasts, internet video, streaming radio, and the like.  They were a hella deal at Kmart ($35, like I said before) and sound very good.  I’m sure one could spend much more on a set of speakers and get similar sound.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.