Desktop Wiki and To Do

I’ve been messing about with different desktop wiki and note-taking software.  So far, I have tried:

  • BasKet Note Pads: This is a KDE application, and it works well, but it seems a little too in-depth for me.  I just don’t get it (maybe I’m dumb).
  • Zim: This, I actually liked.  The only issue I have with it is that it doesn’t have hierarchical page setup, so I have to remember where my stuff is.  I shouldn’t have to wonder where my “stuff” is.  Maybe I’m doing it wrong, I don’t know.
  • Evernote: This requires Wine, but I can manage things via the website.  I think I’d prefer it if Tomboy would connect up to it and allow me to set up my notebooks that way.
  • Tomboy: This is my favorite so far.  I can easily create new “notebooks” and pages within them, and link different pages together with WikiWords.

I’m using Tomboy because I can set the folder where it saves things to my Dropbox, and easily sync my notes between my two computers.  It makes things simple to use.

I’m also using Tasque for my to-dos.  I can easily hook up to Remember the Milk and work with my tasks.

I guess I’ll use the two different productivity programs (even though I use Evolution for email right now and I could use the memos function in there).  Seems to work for me right now…  I was hoping for an “all-in-one” solution that hooked up to all my web services.  I think that’s a pipe dream.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

9 thoughts on “Desktop Wiki and To Do”

  1. One important thing to consider with notes, which I have thought about many times, is the long term accessibility of the notes. With that in mind, my chosen note-taking app should have a open/standards based file format and play well with others. This basically rules out Evernote – it’s proprietary…even the backup.

    I also like Tomboy but would like to see it integrated into more cloud services. If you don’t already do this, I highly suggest signing up with Dropbox and syncing your Tomboy notes.

    Another great option is to use Google Docs for your notes. As you already probably know, Google has a “data liberation” mindset in that you can always access/backup your data in many formats. Google Docs has an API and I would like to see more Linux apps have the ability to save information into Docs. This would allow me to edit notes on my phone, on my desktop, and in a web based UI too.

    1. I do have a Dropbox account and that’s how I sync my notes around to all of my computers. I just wish Tomboy would have an “auto-sync” so it would automatically be synced to Dropbox. Right now, I have to remember to hit the “Synchronize Notes” menu before I exit. :)

      I hadn’t thought of Google Docs. I have some stuff in there (resume, etc) that I want to back up, but I never thought of actually using their Docs for my note-taking needs. +1 to the data liberation policy too. That’s what I was trying with Zim, but it was too unwieldy. >_<

      Thanks for the idea!

      Amy

      1. No problem. I suggested the Google Docs method mainly because I have an iPhone (doh!) and looked for a note-taking app on the phone. I found NoteMaster which creates 1 document for each note. I stick them in a Notes folder with other sub category folders. This also allows me to insert images, links, etc. too. I hope to get an Android phone at some point and there are apps on there that also sync to Google Docs. But, I suppose if you like the wiki-like functionality of Tomboy then other methods might not appeal to you.

        1. Thanks for more clarification.

          I really hadn’t thought of using G-docs for my desktop-wiki. I was hoping to have an offline option (hence why I went with Tomboy).

          OT:
          How do you like the iPhone? One of the reasons why I don’t have one (besides it being ridiculously expensive) is that it’s not open source. And it’s Apple. And it requires iTunes (I HATE HATE HATE iTunes), so it pretty much requires a Windows install (and I’m a Linux user, as you know… ;)). I’ve seen it in action, and AT&T’s 3G is always going down in our area… and the phone part of the iPhone seems to blow (I’ve had friends with lost calls. Not just dropped or right to voicemail, but lost.).

          Sorry; I’ll end my iPhone rant now… :)

          Anyway (*whistles*)… Notemaster sounds neat. Is that an iPhone app, or a computer app?

          Amy

          1. You can use Google Gears to use G-docs offline.

            I like my iPhone but I share the same thoughts as you. It’s not open-source and I hate iTunes too. This is a problem because I use Ubuntu as my primary OS so I can’t update the firmware or music without connecting it to my iMac. Also, AT&T is full of all kinds of suck. But I hope to get the new Google phone when it’s released or shortly after.

            NoteMaster is an iPhone only, unfortunately.

            1. I found another app that I like even more. I know it’s no good to you but I thought I would share it just in case you do get an iPhone. It’s called Trunk Notes (http://www.appsonthemove.com/trunk/). It’s a wiki style notes app that allows the user to also access it via wifi and backup the notes as text files. It uses the standard wiki markup so I could essentially sync these notes with Zim since Zim’s notes are also text. Sweet!

Comments are closed.