Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings

Has anyone played this for Wii?

If you have, I’m sorry.

Whilst this could be an awesome game, it seems to fall hard on its face.

Let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

~~~~SPOILERS~~~~

You start out in the Sudan and it goes into a tutorial mode.  This is fine for someone without any experience with the Wii, but if you’ve had the Wii for more than 10 minutes, you’ll have played Wii Sports, so this is kind of a moot point.  (Note: I prefer to not be hand-held in a game. I can figure it out, thanks!)  The action is great, till you get killed because you didn’t see you needed to hit the “A” button and get blasted by a cannon.  Or a bullet.  Or run over by a boulder.  Then, you get to start the whole sequence over again…

This is especially infuriating in the first “carnival-style” shooting sequence in San Fransisco.  I couldn’t get the aiming feature just right, and couldn’t seem to shoot anything.  Therefore, I kept getting shot up.  Then, I’d have to restart the whole thing.  Again.

You go up against a bunch of Nazis; not much different from most other Indy games.  There are a couple different ones; the lacky and the thug.  The lacky is easy to whip, drag and kick into submission; the thug, not so much.  You have to use an object (rake, trash can lid, stick, broom, piece of armor, whatever) to smack him down.  It takes a couple of hits for you to dispatch the thug.  In the meantime, do watch out.  If you don’t time things well, you will get smacked and there’s no way to get away from some of them.  Again, very frustrating!

In San-Fran, there’s a car shooting sequence, and if you don’t get the timing right, you’ll end up getting killed by the Nazis.  Again.

The best battle was in Panama when you battle a fire-eater.  It’s timing, but this time, you have control of Indy and can move around quite a bit (except for the ring of fire that surrounds the arena) so it’s not so bad.  I prefer to have control over my character.  (Note: I’m in Panama right now.  This review isn’t complete on the whole game, but I’ve experienced enough gameplay to give it a once-over.)

~~~~END SPOILERS~~~~

I think the issue with this game is the fact that it doesn’t allow you to have control of Indy for the whole thing.  There’s a limited set of motions he can do at certain times, and I’d like to be able to do more with the game.  The motion controls are killer (I pulled my right arm muscle from playing too much yesterday).  It’s neat to use the Wii-mote to whip enemies and such, but you can’t steal the weapon from their hands, just knock it to the ground.  You can whip their neck, middle or foot (I seem to get their feet most often) and drag them to you and dispatch them that way.  You can’t use your gun to dispatch enemies from afar, except when the game allows you.

The story is awesome, as is the voice acting and pacing.  It’s much like being in a movie.  I wish I could skip cut-scenes, since after getting mowed down in a spray of bullets, the last thing you want to do is to have to watch the cut scene.  Again.

If there was a different control scheme (or a better one) I’d give this game a higher rating.  I’ll break it into two scores:

Gameplay: 1/5.  Almost the worst I’ve seen.  I like the idea of using the Wiimote and nunchuck, but it needs to be revised.
Story: 5/5.  If you realize the cheese is supposed to be there, then the story is good.  It’s standard Indy stuff, but I love it.

If LucasArts releases another Wii Indy title, I think they should review the motion-control and allow the player to move Indy around more.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.