Crunchbang, Redux

I reinstalled Crunchbang Linux back onto my netbook.  I have Ubuntu Netbook Remix (UNR) fully functional, but I didn’t have wireless working on the Crunchbang side of my netbook.

I got the System76 driver working on both sides, and had been using UNR for awhile until I decided to boot into Crunchbang for the heck of it.  Somehow, the wireless started working (magic? luck? Who knows, it’s working now.) and I got down to business.

First I added some programs:

  • Tomboy; lets me keep track of notes and whatnot (pic below).
  • Flock; this is installed to my /home directory, so it was already there, but I installed the three addons from this Lifehacker post.  Now I have perma-tabs and I don’t need various programs installed to track my gmail and my g-greader feeds.  (See the pic below for the idea.)
  • Wakoopa; for software tracking.
  • Gwibber; #! comes with this, but I always add the daily PPA.  I like to live on the edge with this program.
  • Gnome-Do; because it’s awesome and easy to start.
  • Dropbox: So I can sync various things between my computers (Tomboy notes, for instance).

First, let’s start with a screenshot:

Note the icons in the notifcation area: Gwibber, Dropbox, Tomboy, Gnome-Do, Power, Volume, Networking, and Wakoopa.

Along the side there is Conky, showing my system information, hard drive information and network information.  I’m thinking about modifiying it though and adding weather (maybe).

Next screenshot:

This screenshot shows Gwibber.  I’m using the Twitter, identi.ca and Jaiku services.  The theme is a Crunchbang eeePC theme.  Very nice.

Next:

This shows Tomboy Notes.  Awesome little app if you don’t mind running Mono.  I have a folder in Dropbox that I use to sync all my notes to all of my computers.  Again, awesome.

Next:

This screenshot shows Flock.  I’ve used the addons linked in the second bullet above to have permanent gmail, g-reader, and g-calendar tabs.  I love those addons.

Ok, now that’s what it looks like.  I basically changed my theme and my wallpaper.

Crunchbang is based on Ubuntu.  It’s running the Openbox theme and has some additional things that Ubuntu does not, like the codecs to play DVDs, MP3s and other multimedia.  Also, it includes Gwibber, the oft-mentioned microblogging app I use.

It’s fast, pretty easy to use (especially if you know your way around a terminal), and if you don’t mind delving into some configuration files, it’s very configurable.  I like the simplicity of Openbox and how it works.  I like the right-click menu and the speed.  The fact that it’s black doesn’t hurt either.

The only real problem I have with it is the fact that when I mouse over a folder or a file, it selects it.  I would prefer to select with one click instead.  EDIT: This is Fixed.  I modified a config file and deleted a line.  Now my file manager doesn’t open on one click.

Score: 4.75/5.  Speed, functionality (after initial setup), programs, and looks.  It’s perfect for a netbook or another computer that you might need a lighter operating system.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

3 thoughts on “Crunchbang, Redux”

  1. Thanks to your post, I discovered Dropbox! I’ve been looking for such service for my document back ups, a service that can sync and keep files. Dropbox gives 2 GB of space for free, exactly what I need. Since I have lost some important files twice in the past when I backed them up on CD/DVD or flash drive, I was looking for an online storage solution.

    I’ve been using Basket Note Pads instead of Tomboy for a long time, a very impressive application. I’m trying Zim Desktop Wiki, for a while now. So far, so good.

    And your post also brought Wakoopa to my attention. I have an account there but never really used software tracking application. Now I’m giving it a try, seems like a nice community there.

    1. Very cool.

      I love Dropbox. I have my resume backed up there as well as a couple other files that are handy to have easy access to. I also use it to share files with my friends. Easy way, especially since Pidgin doesn’t do a good job of sending files through AIM or Yahoo.

      Basket Note Pads? Neat. Tomboy is great, if you don’t mind running Mono on your Linux system. I have no problem with it… and I noticed that Tomboy is available for Windows, so if I go back there for some reason, I’ll have access to my notes (through Dropbox; I have a folder in Dropbox set to sync with my Tomboy notes. Notes on ALL computers! It’s awesome!).

      I’m gamerchick02 on wakoopa if you want to add me. I like seeing what others are using. I’ve found some neat programs that way.

      Amy

      1. Dropbox is excellent to sync notes, I agree. I’ve lost my BasketNote’s at one of my mass data loss disasters and since then I was looking for something exactly like dropbox,since almost hourly I edit / add / delete something from my notes, backing up only is not enough..

Comments are closed.