Windows Updates and Hacking the Registry?

Like a good little Windows user, I like to keep my system up-to-date, and I did just that this past weekend.  I initiated the windows updates through IE and sat back and read a book (the computer becomes almost useless whilst the updates are being updated and installed).

I had to stop half-way through, so I completed the update yesterday.  Now, I spent most of the day doing other things, so I didn’t notice that my DVD drive didn’t work until I tried to play my brother’s PC copy of Indiana Jones and the Emperor’s Tomb.  I started it via the Start Menu, clicked on “play” and got an immediate notice that the disc wasn’t found.  “WTF?” I said.  This was most unusual, since I had just used the DVD drive in Ubuntu the other day.  And I had used it in Windows the past week.

So I look at the hardware device manager and notice a little yellow exclamation point on my DVD drive.  Not good.  I went through the troubleshooting guides and tried to reinstall it.  I figured it was something to do with drivers, but I couldn’t find any new drivers for the drive.  How frustrating.

So I stumbled upon this that told me I had to HACK THE REGISTRY to get my DVD drive working again.  This is ridiculous.  I followed the procedure, and now I have a working DVD drive, but a windows update should not render a piece of plug ‘n play hardware (especially something as vital as a CD/DVD drive) unusable.

This is why I usually use Ubuntu.  Sometimes things are rendered unusable after an ALPHA or BETA update, but almost never for a regular release.

Blogged with the Flock Browser