Upgrade to Jaunty Jackalope, aka Ubuntu 9.04

I upgraded to Jaunty last night.

Let me say… Wow.

It looks pretty, especially with the new “Dust” theme.

But I digress…

~~~~

How to upgrade to the development version:

Hit Alt-F2 in your Intrepid install and type “update-manager -d” without the quotes.  Ubuntu will pop up the update manager and tell you there’s a new release.  Click on “update” and you’re good.  It will ask for your password in gtk-sudo… provide it, and pretty much sit back and let the updater do its work.

After awhile (it was about two hours for me) Ubuntu will tell you to restart so you can boot into the new version.

Restart, and viola!  You’re in the new version of Ubuntu!

~~~~

I didn’t have any issues upgrading.  My theme stayed the same, so I had to switch over to the “Dust” theme (the newest theme).  It looks very nice:

Please go do my deviantArt profle to see it in full here.

The program shown is Gwibber… I’m not going to expound on its use because I have before, but it is one of the programs I use the most of.

Anyway, the wallpaper is from… I can’t remember right now. Probably gnome-look.  Anyway, This dark theme fits with this laptop.  I change the theme regularly, but I think I’ll be sticking with this one for at least awhile.

~~~~

The biggest changes for Alpha 6 can be found here.  I like all of the changes… my laptop seems to run faster and the new notifications work swimmingly.  For a demo, see this video.  It really doesn’t do the effect justice, but you get the idea.

~~~~

On to programs.  Gwibber is set to be released in the main Jaunty repos this time around.  Very cool, if you ask me.

Specto is not working at all… I get an error on startup.  I think it has to do with the libraries it uses; they probably aren’t updated or something.  Oh well, I’m sure it will be updated with the release of Jaunty… if not before in one of the release candidates.

I had huge fonts in Pidgin when I was chatting with a friend last night, but I found out it was my font selection within that program.  Everything else was just fine; terminal, Flock, gwibber, etc.  I futzed with that and… it’s fine now.  I have no clue what caused that, but either way, it’s working.

Other than that, I haven’t noticed any issues with my other programs not working or having issues.

~~~~

Battery life is about the same.  I get about one and a half hours… sometimes one hour and forty-five minutes (on a good day) on the battery.  My laptop seems to run cooler, but then again, i’m not pushing it right now.

~~~~

Before I forget… Specs of computer:

Gateway MX3225

Processor Intel® Celeron® M Processor 370
1 MB L2 Cache | 1.5 GHz | 400 MHz FSB
Display Screen 14-inch Widescreen Ultrabright WXGA TFT
Chipset Via VN800
Memory 256 MB DDR2 (1 × 256 MB) SODIMM 533 MHz
Expandable to 1 GB
Video S3 UniChrome™ Pro integrated graphics processor
Up to 64 MB shared video memory
Audio AC ’97 2.3 Compliant audio
Hard Drive 60-GB 4200 RPM hard drive
Optical Drive CD-RW / DVD Combo
Write maximum: 24X CD-R/RW
Reads maximum: 24X CD-ROM, 8X DVD-ROM
Media Reader 4-in-1 Digital Media Manager
Secure Digital, Memory Stick, Memory Stick-Pro, and MMC
Modem 56K ITU V.92 ready Fax/Modem (RJ-11 port)
Network 10/100 Mbps built-in Ethernet
802.11g integrated Wireless (up to 54 Mbps) SecureEasySetup™
Interfaces
  • 2 – USB 2.0 Ports
  • 1 – VGA External Connector
  • 1 – RJ11 (Modem)
  • 1 – RJ45 (Ethernet LAN)
  • Microphone In
  • Headphone / Audio Out
Pointing Device Touchpad with Vertical Scroll Zone
PCMCIA 1 – Type I or Type II; Card Bus
Battery 6-cell Lithium-ion
Dimensions 1.1 to 1.24-inches (H) × 13-inches (W) × 9.7-inches (D)
28 to 32 mm (H) × 330 mm (W) × 246 mm (D)
Weight 5.01 pounds
2.27 kilograms

I have no media reader.  Ubuntu actually recognised the modem and offered to get and install drivers from the internet for it… I don’t need the modem, so I declined.

This laptop is good for portability… It’s not too heavy.  It’s not good for gaming, however.  Light games, like crosswords and the like are ok, but nothing that’s graphics-intensive.

~~~~

This release is stable (so far).  I haven’t tested the resume from suspend yet (I want to get this post out before my power testing eats it…) and I haven’t tested hibernate either.  I’ve never had luck with suspend or hibernate with this laptop, except wtih OpenSuse.

I don’t recommend this upgrade for anyone with a “mission critical” system… stick with Intrepid until upgrade day… even then, you may want to wait a couple days for the servers to cool off (when Ubuntu is updated, usually it’s quite slow when it upgrades… especially when it’s just released).

Anyway, I hope everyone has a test machine to give this a shot.  There are advantages to having two computers… one can be your testing machine!  That’s what this laptop is… and I must say, I’m surprised the hard drive hasn’t quit.

~~~~

EDIT:

I checked the resume from suspend, as well as resume from hibernate and neither work. If I want that feature, I will have to buy a laptop built with linux in mind.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

2 thoughts on “Upgrade to Jaunty Jackalope, aka Ubuntu 9.04”

    1. You’re welcome!

      I’m sure you’ll post a review that’s better than mine in LinuxJournal or on your blog… I’m rather amateur, but it’s something I enjoy doing.

      The Gwibber team has been working for inclusion into Jaunty. I’ve been following the conversation on the mailing list… It’s a big milestone for gwibber. They’re now working toward the 1.0 release.

      I hope the upgrade for you goes well!

      Amy

Comments are closed.