Microblogging AIR Apps

I’ve been microblogging since last year around this time, and I’ve been looking for the perfect AIR app to follow my friends’ tweets ever since (on Windows).  I have found the perfect Linux app in Gwibber.

Anyway I’ve tried the following:

Twhirl is nice; it allows you to have twitter, identi.ca and Friendfeed all up and running, but it requires you to run each as a seperate window.  This is not cool (for me, anyway) because I use all three.  Twhirl would be more usable for me if it was one window with tabs or if it aggregated all of the feeds together in one window, ala Gwibber.

Twibble is quite nice. I like it; it has a simple interface.  Unfortunately, there are no pop-ups notifying me of replies to my tweets/dents.  However, it does support identi.ca, which is very nice.

AlertThingy is awesome, but there’s no support for Friendfeed or identi.ca.  They do have a Friendfeed-only app, but not having support for identi.ca is a deal-breaker for me.

Spaz is great, but it only allows you to use one account at a time.  In other words, I can have either my identi.ca OR my twitter account active.  It has popups for replies and it’s lightweight (ie, it doesn’t hog a tonnage of my resources).

Snitter is full-featured.  No identi.ca support either.  It has a very nice interface and is clean and easy-to-use.

Posty is about as full-featured as you can get.  It has twitter, identi.ca, friendfeed, Jaiku and Tumblr.  It’s got a nice tabbed interface and is lightweight.  No popups and no sound, however.

IdentiTwitch is clean, if a hair confusing to sign into both twitter and identi.ca at the same time, but it can be done.  Once you figure that out, it’s got a great, simple interface.  No pop-ups and no sound, but that’s not a problem for me.

Feedalizr is probably one of my favorite of the bunch.  I was using it until I had an issue with the transparency.  I’m still having the issue, but I’m not in Windows right now to diagnose it.  It’s got a tabbed interface and supports facebook, friendfeed, twitter and digg.  It’s the closest thing I’ve found to Gwibber on Windows… unfortunately there is no identi.ca support.  I need identi.ca support!

~~~~

Right now on the windows box, I’m using Twhirl.  I keep trying to reinstall Feedalizr, but, even with the update I was emailed, it’s not working.  Oh well.  I’ll just wait for the next update and see if it works.  I’m sure it will.

All of these have their own quirks.  Please try them all out and see what works for you.

2 thoughts on “Microblogging AIR Apps”

  1. Argh! I’m also frustrated by the lack of a Gwibber equivalent on OSX/Windows. It boggles me that no one’s come up with a usable microblogging app. As much as I love my Ubuntu laptop, sometimes I need to use my Macbook and I’m stuck with Twhirl. Thanks for the overview; it will help with my experimentation. :D

    1. Heh. Me too… I love gwibber and it works so easily.

      Many people don’t use more than Twitter or identi.ca. I use both; I need both because I follow people on both and telling people to move to identi.ca because I’m leaving twitter is… well, not really nice.

      Have you looked into using the XMPP options?

      (Ooooh… threaded comments FTW!!)

      Amy

Comments are closed.