Ubuntu on the Laptop

I am posting this from something special.

I installed Ubuntu on my laptop! Yay.

To get it working, I had to do the following:

1. Install Mandriva
2. Configure Mandriva
3. Grab WORKING xorg.conf from Mandriva and put on a USB stick
4. Install Ubuntu
5. Configure Ubuntu
6. Grab needed part of xorg.conf from file on USB stick and paste it into Ubuntu’s xorg
7. Restart
8. Say a short prayer to ESR and RS (and FSM, if you want; I did)
9. Hold breath (start-up scroll bars are incorrect resolution)
10. CELEBRATE, for IT WORKED!!!!

I also filed a bug on launchpad. It is bug #313041 if anyone wants to check it out. I was talking to some of my friends on identi.ca about it, and they said that Ubuntu wasn’t automagically detecting my video card and configuring it. I could figure that bit out, but I’m not sure why it would work in Mandriva and not Ubuntu. It also works in OpenSuse. Doesn’t seem to work in Fedora or any debian based distro.

All the information to the bug and how I fixed it (if you care to look) is on the launchpad site… I’m not going to rehash it here (anyway, it might turn away some readers, seeing xorg files and whatnot).

I’ve got networking up and running (it was massively easy, networkmanager worked and detected things right away; better than Mandriva or OpenSuse). I’ve also got sound working… Pulseaudio seems to work under Ubntu but not other distros for me. I don’t know why. Strange.

Either way, I’m extremely happy that I got my fave distro running on my laptop. NOW I can be finally happy that my journey of Linux distro-hopping is OVER.

2 thoughts on “Ubuntu on the Laptop”

  1. I’m running Ubuntu on two laptops right now, both Acers (Aspire 2920 and brand new Aspire 5735z) Both installs worked great out of the box, although the 2920’s video card acceleration didn’t work until after a few updates. Even the WiFi worked great out of the box.

    Glad to see your experience was similar to mine. Every good install experience means more reinforcement that Linux is ready for mainstream users (although still maybe not the computer novice without any tech support).

    I ran Mandrake years ago, and I’m really amazed at how far along the OS has come both in ease of use and hardware support.

  2. Glad to hear. I’m running Ubuntu on my desktop and my laptop (now).

    WiFi has come a long way from where it was just a year ago.

    I agree with your opinion about install experiences.

    Oh, my make and model of my laptop is a Gateway MX3225. It has a Via graphics chipset, which was the issue. I hear the Via chipset is to be integrated into the new kernel. That will make things so much easier.

    Amy

Comments are closed.