KDE4, redone

So… I installed Mandriva with Gnome the other day, and found out that it didn’t seem to like my idiot Unichrome drivers that worked perfectly fine in KDE4.  So… I reinstalled the KDE4 version, and had a mega-slow desktop.

I went into the settings and fiddled with it for awhile.  I un-checked a bunch of stuff (basically all of the crap that handles the transparency, 3D stuff and the like).  Now, it seems to be much, much snappier.  I’m exceedingly happy!  I wasn’t planning on it working, but after I did a restart of X, it seemed to be markedly faster.

I have seen no degradation of quality with time run.  The computer seems to handle multiple programs easily.

Also, since my order from Newegg came in (very quickly, I might add), I have the wireless router upstairs and I’m getting very good signal on the couch.  This is where I need the signal, since I spend most of my time in the family room.  Heh.

Anyway, I’m loving Mandriva with KDE4 right now.  Like I said before, you have to fiddle with things sometimes to get it working.  It’s no different than any other thing; I just had to try out a bunch of stuff before it all worked.  Heh.