Pandora

Pandora is my newest internet radio obsession.  First it was last.fm, then it was iTunes, now it’s the aforementioned Pandora.

This free internet radio service is quite cool.  It runs through flash, so there’s an Adobe AIR app that will allow you to control it right from your desktop.

I have yet to get AIR working on Ubuntu (I hear it’s buggy).  I’d like to give it a try, but if it’s buggy and crashy, I don’t think I want to use it.

Anyway Pandora has many different stations all ready for you to listen to.  You can set them up in your “queue” and listen to them on a “shuffle” mode.  That sounds really cool.  I haven’t tried it yet, but if I ever get a chance to sit and code or whatever, I’ll definitely put my stations on shuffle and see what it comes up with.

Anyway, I like this program for different reasons than last.fm.  Don’t get me wrong, I like last.fm (and always will) but this is different and I’ll give it a test drive for the next couple of weeks.  I might end up going back to last.fm, but who knows?  Last.fm seems to have more indie stuff.  I like indie stuff.  :)

I guess the concensis is that I’m still undecided.  I won’t limit myself to one or the other, but last.fm is more integrated into other applications: Banshee, iTunes, Rhythmbox and others.  If Pandora becomes more integrated into these other applications, I might use it more.

Like I said, we’ll see.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.