OpenSuse on the Laptop

I’ve tried many different types of Linux on my laptop:

  • Fedora 8
  • Ubuntu
  • Kubuntu
  • SamLinux2007
  • Arch
  • OpenSuse 10.3
  • Xubuntu
  • FreeSpire
  • Some Gnome/Enlightenment/Ubuntu mashup I got out of a magazine
  • Debian Lenny

None of these worked fully till I tried the newest version of OpenSuse.

OpenSuse 11.0 is heaven.  It recognized my graphics, my wireless card (the new RaLink one) and all of the other doodads that need to work for your computer to be considered functional.  Everything was pretty much out-of-box except for the sound.  I still have to mess with the sound.  That’s the only headache I have.  That, and this one-click thing.  I’m trying to figure that out as well.  I want to install Gwibber.

Anyway, I’m extremely happy with this OpenSuse, especially since it comes in a Gnome flavor.  I love Gnome (don’t really know why, but I just do).  Pretty easy to deal with.

I’ll post more when I get the sound fixed.  Need my internet radio…

2 thoughts on “OpenSuse on the Laptop”

  1. Awesome! I work at Novell and just upgraded from SLED 10 SP2 to openSUSE 11 and it’s pretty sweet, too.

  2. Thanks! I do like it a lot.

    It actually works on my laptop with a minimum of fuss. The only issue I’ve had is the sound. But, I uninstalled all the pulse audio stuff and now the sound is more acceptable.

    Amy

Comments are closed.