Linux Laptop Adventures…

I now have Mandriva on my laptop.

It was a long process that started on Monday this week.  I got home from work and decided that I wanted to dual-boot my laptop with Ubuntu and Windows.  Well, I put my Kubuntu disc into the DVD drive, and rebooted.  I told it to install, and it did… sort of.  I got impatient with the partitioner and I fubar’d my Windows install.  Yeah, it went away… totally.

So I was Windows-less.  No big deal, I try to reinstall Kubuntu.  Well, I end up with a resolution of 600×800 (ugly) and no wireless.  I went “meh” and stated a download of Mandriva.  After that was downloaded, I installed that.  Wireless wasn’t working, but I did have a 1024×768 resolution.  I decided that wasn’t good enough and I quit for the evening.

The next day (Tuesday) I stated again after work.  I had Mandriva on the computer, and I wasn’t happy.  So, I went to Freespire.  Now, I had a brilliant amount of success with wireless (ie, it worked out of the box) but not with the resolution.  It was at 600×800.  So…  I was tired and went to bed after futzing with it for a couple hours.

Wednesday, I started on my project again.  I decided to install vanilla Ubuntu.  No dice.  No wireless, no decent resolution… Frustration abounded.  I was talking to Brian and he suggested Fedora.  I found a decent Fedora download and got it.  I did the install, and had about the same results as before.

Now, we go to Thursday night.  I was growing tired of the reinstalls and the non-working wireless and crappy resolution.  So, I decided to try Mandriva again.  I installed it, and started browsing the forums to figure out how to get wireless and the resolution working.  I figured out the resolution and got it set to 1280×768 the way I wanted it.  Wireless was a little more of an issue.

I got the drivers I needed and started hacking around the gui for the wireless setup.  I got it all set up and lo and behold, WIRELESS WORKS!!!

YAHOO!!!

I’m quite happy with Mandriva.  It works on the laptop really well.  I haven’t tried suspend/hibernate yet and I’ll report back if/when it works.

KDE was acting up for a little while, but once I turned off the effects (compiz-fusion) it worked like a charm.  Make sure you disable the desktop effects, at least initially, until you’re sure it’s going to work.

If you have a laptop that you need to ditch Windows on (or you just want to try something new) give Mandriva a try.  I’m quite happy with it.

Happy computing to all!

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.