Laptop!!

Whee!  I bought a laptop.

Specs:

Gateway MX3225
Intel Celeron M
1.50 GHz processor
1 GB RAM
Integrated wireless
DVD drive
WinXP Home SP2

Programs:

It came with McAfee and something called Bigfix, as well as an unactivated copy of MSOffice.  Basically, it came with all of the basic Windows XP stuff.  I got rid of McAfee and the Bigfix thing…  Not really needed.

I installed Pidgin, Flock, Firefox, IE7, OpenOffice, Comodo Antivirus and Malware, X-chat 2, and Gimp.

Plans:

My plans for this computer system and my desktop are as follows–

  1. Keep Windows XP on the laptop.  It runs fine, and I don’t have to mess with anything.
  2. Reinstall Ubuntu on the desktop.
  3. No dual-booting!
  4. Get an external USB hard drive or something so I can share my files easily between both computers (this is needed… I want to work on my fanfics on the laptop when I’m on the couch).

The only thing I really need now is a small mouse for the laptop and a laptop bag.  My mom offered to make me a bag, but I’m not sure.  If I can’t find anything for relatively cheap, then I’ll have her make me one.

I love this laptop.  It’s lightweight, easy to use, pretty fast, and small.

Blogged with Flock

4 thoughts on “Laptop!!”

  1. Congrats on the new toy!

    I was just given a slim, handy wireless mouse for a Christmas gift. I (naturally) do not have it with me (I’m up visiting my parents), but if you like, I’ll dig up the brand name and pass it to you. I’ve been quite pleased with it.

    The laptop bag I use is just a cheap messenger bag I bought from Ikea a few years ago. I think I spent all of $10 on it, and it has been quite satisfactory. I can’t keep all my gadgets in it (like extra drives and the new mouse), but it will carry my laptop and the necessary power plugs without problem.

  2. Thanks for the tips. I will look into something like that for my laptop.

    I’m not sure if I need a wireless mouse (it really doesn’t matter). I just know that I need a mouse, especially if I’m going to do any picture manipulation (GIMP) on this thing. Also, gaming… I will need a mouse for gaming. :)

    I just need to go around and shop. I know that Best Buy has bags, but I know that they are expensive.

    I’m off to grab some sleep. Sooo… tired….

    Amy

Comments are closed.