Kubuntu, Pidgin, and how it all works…

I’ve got Kubuntu up, running, and happy, like I said in my earlier post.  I love Kubuntu.  KDE is awesome.

BUT…  I’m getting an error that I’m totally puzzled with.  It has to do with the new d3lphin (dolphin) file manager that they will be rolling out in KDE 4.  Here’s the error:

“Unable to save bookmarks in /home/gamerchick02/.kde/share/apps/d3lphin/bookmarks.xml. Reported error was: Permission denied. This error message will only be shown once. The cause of the error needs to be fixed as quickly as possible, which is most likely a full hard drive.”

Any of the Linux/KDE users have an idea what this means?  I’m stumped, and I’ve tried a couple things.

First I tried:

sudo chown -R gamerchick02:gamerchick02 /home/gamerchick02/.kde

From this I got a “file not found” error.  I think .kde wasn’t found.

Then I gave this a shot:

sudo chown your user ~/.kde/share/apps/d3lphin/bookmarks.xml

Well, I just tried it, and it WORKS.  Yay.  Fixed my problem.  Apparently the ownership got changed somehow, and it didn’t want me to post new “bookmarks” to my dolphin profile.

I have Flock working.  Yay.  I also got Gimp and Pidgin.  I’m having issues with Kopete (again!).  It doesn’t want to connect to MSN.  I use MSN to talk to a couple of people exclusively, and I need that one, since they don’t have any other chat program.

I’m thinking about getting Firefox and a couple of games.  Games rock, especially Suduku, solitare and Yahtzee.  I also like the Blackjack game that came with Gnome for some reason.  At this second, I’m getting a couple emulaters to play SNES, NES and GBA games.  My brother wants it because he aquired some ROMs from a friend of a friend of a friend.  They were on his server… Anyway, he wants to play them.  *grin*

All I have to get done now is fix a problem with my floppy drive not mounting in Dolphin or Konqueror.  Not that big of a deal, but I want the floppy drive to work.  It’s a geek thing.  I can get it to mount in the terminal, but I don’t want that.

Blogged with Flock

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.