Now Reading

I’ve just started Lake Wobegon Days by Garrison Kellor. It’s pretty good so far, and funny.

There is a lot of background for an imaginary town in Minnesota. The book goes all the way back to the founding of the town and the characters who lived there.

Apparently, it was named after an Indian word meaning either “Here we are!” or “We sat all day in the rain waiting for you.” Heh.

I’m on page 45 of some 500, so we’ll see how this runs.

Some background:

I’m unfortunately addicted to Garrison Kellor’s radio variety show called “A Prairie Home Companion” that plays on NPR on Saturday nights and Sunday afternoons (on my NPR station). It’s funny, with a cast of characters that make you choke on your coffee while you’re trying to enjoy the newspaper.

Sometimes they have different musical acts on the show. Lots of Old Crow Medicine Show and the like. Mostly bluegrass and country. If you like that sort of thing, then it’s something you should try out.

This show grows on you. The first time I listened to it, I didn’t really like it, but then I kept listening to it (I’m a glutton for punisment…) and I started to like it. It was a long process, kind of like the process to start to like coffee. I also saw the movie, which only cemented my enjoyment of the show. LMAO, is all I can say.

Blogged with Flock

3 thoughts on “Now Reading”

  1. Welcome to the Prairie Home family.

    I don’t get to listen to the whole show at all … with the pace of our household, getting 2 hours in a block at those particular times is tough. But I listed to the monologue podcasts all the time.

    I was introduced to Keillor when I worked for a summer in Rochester, MN. It brings back fond memories.

  2. :)

    I started listening to it regularly when I moved back home. Good habits, eh?

    I actually wouldn’t mind moving to Minnesota.

    Amy

Comments are closed.