Now Reading

I’m now reading You, Inc.  It’s about selling yourself.

From what I gather, it’s reiterating what I’ve heard and read about in the past:

  • Listen to what people say
  • Show up on time for meetings
  • Be short and sweet in your speeches (includes interview stories)
  • Treat people with respect
  • Be polite
  • Master one skill well (even if you have a large skill set)
  • Use body language properly
  • Set goals to learn about yourself and others
  • Motivate people with your speaking
  • Moderate your speech to match your audience (especially important in interviews)
  • Believe what you’re selling
  • Do what you love
  • Etc.

I’m glad I got the book from the library.  Paying 25 bucks for a book that can be finished in one day and tell you what you already know is a little uneconomical.

Anyway, I decided to try it (because I need help selling myself, and no, that doesn’t mean what you may think it means…).  It’s not a bad book, but it’s too easy to read.  It moves along with huge type, short paragraphs, bullets and major points bolded at the end of each section.  Not a bad idea, but it screams “You can’t read small print, nor digest difficult ideas, so I’m going to simplify things for you!!”.

I guess I don’t like being talked down to in a book.  It was written for business majors, I guess…  Inference your own ideas here…  Heh.

I guess it seems a little vague.  The book promises to tell you what you need to know about selling yourself, but it accomplishes nothing.  All you end up reading are a bunch of generalities that make you nod and go, “Yes, I need to do that”, but it doesn’t really motivate you to change.

Blogged with Flock

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.