Gnome vs. KDE

I’ve posted about this before, but I decided to revisit it.

I had installed KDE on my Ubuntu install (default Gnome) and was fiddling around with it.  I’ve decided I don’t really like the way KDE does things.  I’m not sure if it’s because I’m biased the way Gnome does things or not.  I like Gnome because it seems to stress ease-of-use for the end-user (that would be me, in my case).  It also stresses minimalistic setups (although you can set it up however you like).

KDE just sort of throws everything in your face.  It gives you a very clean desktop, but also gives you a ton of ways to customize it (not that I mind that…).  It’s just too… much, I think.

Now, KDE is perfect for some people.  They like to configure, configure, configure and don’t like to use the command line.  They have something that fits their bill perfectly.  I prefer to use the command line, prefer a simplisitc interface, and prefer the way Gnome is set up.

Just my two cents.  Take it or leave it.

Blogged with Flock

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.