Forgive Me: More on Flock and Pidgin

I’ve been having a couple problems with Flock recently.  I’ve started using the big “star” up in the URL bar to add bookmarks to my delicious site, but when I tag, I get one tag.

Example:

I want to bookmark the Ubuntu website.  I navigate to it, click on the star and add my tags to the “tags” box (opensource, linux).  All is well until I go to the delicious site and find out that it made one tag out of the two (opensource,linux).  Now, I need to re-tag my bookmark.

This is marginally annoying, and I think it has something to do with the fact that I’m running a build that is about 3 weeks old.  I’m getting the new build of it, and I’m going to see if that takes care of the problem.  If it doesn’t, I still have the old version to go back to, but I don’t think I’ll have to.

~~~~

Pidgin is great!  I love the way it works.  The Gaim/Pidgin team have fixed the g-talk issue (my “buddies” group isn’t showing up when I log in… the non-gmail users aren’t showing up in my list).  They’ve also fixed the minor issue of userpics not being updated right away with all of the chat platforms.  Before, when you changed your userpic, it wouldn’t update right away.  I always figured it was some sort of small bug in the program.  It wasn’t a HUGE deal for me.  I would just close Gaim and open it back up again.

They have those minor bugs fixed, it’s in 2.0 release, and they have a new mascot.  What’s not to love?  Well, maybe that new mascot.

Pidgin Pigeon

The mascot is a pigeon.  A huge, purple pigeon.  It also seems to have a smirk/goofy grin on it’s beak(?) like it’s saying “I’m better than you.”  Well, there is some truth to that.

I like being able to connect to all of my chat networks in one window.  I started out with Trillian under Windows, then went to Gaim.  I didn’t particularly like Gaim at first because it seemed… well… older than Trillian.  Trillian had a very slick and futuristic interface.  I really liked it, but it was taking up too much of my memory.  Gaim used less memory (yay) but looked like a clunky, old application.

Gaim/Pidgin has a much better interface now (I think) and it seems faster than ever.  I like being able to change my status through the drop-down menu at the bottom of the window.  I like the guifications popups.  I like the new little icons for the different chat networks.  I just like the whole thing.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

4 thoughts on “Forgive Me: More on Flock and Pidgin”

  1. Meebo is nice, but I still prefer to have the chat program separate from my browser. *shrug*

    Amy

  2. I am an IM fiend; I am always on. Therefore, my IM client is always open. Since my computer is up 24/7, my IM application can be up for several days (even several weeks!) at a time.

    I used trillian for a time but its memory usage was out of control and its widget set looked nothing like the standard window manager widget set. It was skinnable but most of the skins sucked.

    So I installed gaim. gaim was great. Gaim did not eat all my memory, I didn’t have to mouse over every inch of the interface to find the tiny hidden widgets, and it looked like it belonged on my desktop. Not including games, no windowed application has the right to change the look of the titlebar or menubar. Ever. Things need to be consistent.

    Then gaim changed how they did their options, preferences, and plugins. If you want to fix a preference now, first you have to guess whether it belongs to the default program or a plugin. For example, I want to increase all of the font sizes. Where do I go to do this? I have a plugin for GTK+ options, and I remember editing the font size in the popup notifier once. Also there seem to be font size options in the main configuration screen. so now I get to go play with several interfaces for the same thing.

    I should be able to find things in the interface without having to guess what heading they are under. Since there are a lot of options available, I could get stuck going through every single tab for it, and there is no keyboard shortcut for going through the tabs (I can’t type a letter then hit the plus key like before). Firefox did the same thing, but they at least have about::config where you can do all of your configuration.

    And they have they went with the horrible tabbed options pane. I know I bitched above about sticking with windows standards for window management/layout but for once I want the treeview back with all options in one spot.

    Their new icons could use some work but thats AOL’s fault.

    And then there is the issue of the name. Why do free software projects go with non-descriptive names? sure pidgin has some language meanings, but so what? the person looking for a consolidated IM client on the tubes isn’t thinking about that. If they called it Gnome Messenger or something more generic sounding people looking for a IM client would find it.

    On the plus side, gaim can strip stupid formatting, add timestamps, and fix font sizes so I can read it. I can turn of the stupid sounds and tab the windows. I can have right bottom corner popups when I get a message. And, the big list is growing on me. No one else does ALL of these. It has always had these features though; the UI changes only make things worse IMO.

  3. I agree with your opinion of Trillian. The memory footprint is out of hand, and unless you both are running windows and have a huge amount of memory, I don’t recommend it.

    Personally, I like the new Gaim/Pidgin. I guess it’s because of the interface. I think having the “plugins” and “preferences” menus separate is a good idea. Just me. It makes sense to me.

    You have the right to your opinion. Everyone does. Could you write a plugin to return the menu to the way you want it? I don’t even know if that’s possible.

    *shrug*

    Amy

Comments are closed.