Beryl

I’ve enabled Beryl on my desktop in my Ubuntu install.  All I can say is “wow”.

It has loads of sweet features; a flipping desktop, transparency, cube rotation (if you have 4 desktops), window wobble (if you want it; I found it annoying), a water feature (doesn’t seem to work on my computer..) and loads of other things.  I have yet to try everything out.

It’s so awesome that Beryl works on my old computer.  I got this in 2003(?) or so and it’s still kicking.  If I were to install Vista on it, I’m sure it would grind to a screeching halt.  Then it would barf all over my shoes.  But, with Ubuntu, I can have all the eye-candy I want, and it’s still usable.  How cool is that?

I’m off to play some more with Beryl.  Just thought I’d pass it on if someone out there is looking for an alternative to Vista and they want eye-candy.

Blogged with Flock

2 thoughts on “Beryl”

  1. Pics or it didn’t happen :)

    Thats awesome. My laptop can’t do acceleration well enough for compiz/xgl or beryl. Oh well, I really don’t need them on the laptop as long as the wireless keeps working.

Comments are closed.