Ubuntu Upgrade

I upgraded my Ubuntu system again.

Now I’m running Feisty Fawn 7.04.  I love it!

I decided to go with Gnome (!) again.  I quite like Gnome, but I also quite like KDE.  I was smart enough to get some of the KDE libs when I was scamming highspeed from ferociouskater.  I usually try to stay “true” to the desktop enviroment, but this time I didn’t.  I was going to use XChat-Gnome but when I set it up something went horribly wrong.  It gives me a “core dump” when I run it in a terminal.  So, I gave up on that for the time being, and decided to get Konversation.  Since I had most of the libs, installing Konversation was no huge deal.  Now I have Konversation working.  I really wanted XChat-Gnome, but what can you do?

I got a sweet Vista-like theme for Gnome as well.  It’s quite shiny and I think it would give any MS-fanboy (or girl) a run for their money.  All I need to get working is Beryl and all the shiny effects.  I’m not exactly sure how to do that, but I’m sure if I just read the documentation, I’ll be fine.

The upgrade went without a hitch.  I was helping some people with the install and getting different programs.  Brian was having issues with his wireless card, but with another (!) reinstall, he was able to get it working.

I’m quite happy with everything.  Ubuntu runs better than ever and the distro keeps improving with every new release.  Keep up the good work Ubuntu and Canonical!

Blogged with Flock