Some Random Slashdot for a Friday

This is from Slashdot in the comments section.  Some background: TFA is about how it costs more to upgrade antivirus/firewall software then it costs to actually buy the new copy in the store.  And we commence!

McAfee makes what?  (Score:2, Insightful)

Can’t find any of their products on my workstation. Haven’t seen this “norton” people keep talking about.

Decided iptables was more effective than zonealarm [more configurable] too.

Wow, I must be one of those Linux hippies…

Tom


Someday, I’ll have a real sig.

No such thing as a Linux hippy  (Score:5, Funny)

Wow, I must be one of those Linux hippies…

FreeBSD is like, “Hey, dudes! Come use our free stuff for whatever you like. Just don’t forget to thanks us and it’s all good.”

Linux is like, “You are free to join our collective but you have to contribute if you want to distribute our free stuff. Whatever you contribute becomes part of our free stuff.”

See the difference? FreeBSD is for hippies and Linux is for commies. It’s a subtle distinction, I know. ;-)


– You wanted an argument? Oh, I’m sorry, but this is abuse, you want room 12A, Just along the corridor.

Re:No such thing as a Linux hippy  (Score:4, Funny)

Point taken, except the DISTRO is a collection of various OSS licensed gear.

I wouldn’t dare contribute to the kernel, I’m only a lowly software developer with 7 years experience and my beard-fu is weak.

Someday I hope to develop even weaker social skills, a long beard and the aptitude to wear a kilt. Then I can be a kernel developer. :-)

Tom


Someday, I’ll have a real sig.

Re:No such thing as a Linux hippy (Score:4, Funny)

FreeBSD is for hippies and Linux is for commies. It’s a subtle distinction, I know. ;-)

And Macs are like “Hey, our stuff is so much more stylish that those other systems.” That’s why they tell us that Macs are for gays, I guess.

Lessee; I’m typing this on a Mac laptop. On my desktop are the display/kb/mouse attached to my linux box. On its screen are some windows ssh’d to a remote FreeBSD system that I use for part of my development and portability testing, and as a mirror for my web site.

I guess this all must make me a gay, communist hippie.

Please don’t tell my wife or employer (or George Bush) …


If I’d asked the customers what they wanted, they would have said “A faster horse.” — Henry Ford

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

One thought on “Some Random Slashdot for a Friday”

  1. I just thought I would leave you a message since I have not been able to talk to you lately. And remember you are free to give me a call whenever you want to. So hopefully all of your stuff with the masons is going well. But otherwise, I wish I was there to give you a massage when you got home from your meeating. Or maybe I just wish I was there love :-D. Well I guess I will talk to you later. Bye

Comments are closed.