Life is good…

Why is life good? Let me give you a list:

  1. I have Deepest Sender in Firefox.
  2. I’m getting all things art-y for Kubuntu.
  3. I have a pre-interview at Flowserve.

Now for some more info about number 3:

I have been sending out my resume to different companies (as many of you know) so I can get a job. At this point, I’ll take ANYTHING that is remotely related to mechanical engineering (even if it’s cleaning the floor in a company, or working as a secretary for a company). Well, yesterday I was walking past my mobile, on the way to fiddle with something else (I don’t even remember now) and it rang. I looked at the display and I didn’t recognize the number, but I answered it anyway. It turned out to be a guy from Flowserve who was interested in me. I tried to contain my giddiness and answered his questions. So, today I have a meeting with him at the Tim Horton’s on State to talk about my qualifications for his company.

Some info about the company:

It’s based in Irving, Texas. The bit I’d be working for (Seals) is based in Cincinnati, Ohio. They manufacture pumps and seals and all sorts of stuff that deals with fluid dynamics (not my strong point in school, I must admit…).

I’d be doing work at Dow up in Midland. Not too bad…  I can live at home and work up in Midland, at least for the time being. :)

Wish me luck! I hope I get this. I’ve been sending out my resume forever and waiting for something to come along. There is only so much you can do.

When I got the call yesterday, I have to admit that I felt pretty helpless and depressed. I felt like I had been talking to a brick wall about the whole job thing. I was wondering why I had even gotten the degree in the first place, since I was back home and looking at working at Menard’s when it opens up this spring. I mean, I could have worked at Menard’s/Walmart/Meijer/insert-any-evil-corporation-here as a slave-for-hire without getting a degree. I’m just glad something came up so (hopefully) I don’t have to take a job retailing (I hate it).

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.