Reading

I haven’t been reading as much as I’d like to.  Between my new DS, my Super Mario Sunshine game, and fiddling with Kubuntu, I haven’t taken the time to sit down and read a book.  But I did start one yesterday.

I started The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan.  I’ve wanted to read this book forever, but I never got around to it.  They didn’t have it at the library (Auburn Hills or Saginaw) so I had a hard time getting my hands on it.  Finally, last spring, we found it in the mall in Midland.  I bought a copy and have finally picked it up to read it.  I’m just through the preface and starting the first chapter, so I’ll tell what I think of it in future posts.

It has lots of controversy surrounding it.  I do love reading controversial books, so I thought this one would be a good one to pick up and read.  It also has a very important role in how women are percieved today.  My mother has read this book, and I want to take a look at it, and get into it as much as she has.

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.