Ubuntu Funness

At this very minute, Ubuntu is being installed on my computer. It is updating a bunch of stuff from the internet. We have it installed for the most part. My brother’s friend Paul (my friend too!) was nice enough to lend us his ajoining room here in the dorm. He doesn’t have a suitemate, so he keeps the room open for extra room. We aren’t supposed to be in there, but who cares? We’ll be out soon enough. We are just waiting for Paul to get back from class so we can lock the door and go shopping. Whee! My brother needs to get some stuff. Oh well.

The installation of Ubuntu is going well. It was easier than I thought it would be. I just had to put the CD in and re-boot. There was some partitioning stuff to do, but my brother walked me though that. It’s good. He’s gonna show me some tips and tricks to using the program. I think I’ll like it.

Anyway… I think we’re going out somewhere for dinner. Hopefully Paul will come with us. I’ll pay for his dinner in thanks for letting me use his room and stuff. He’s a really cool guy.

Gotta go check on the installation….

Published by

gamerchick02

Mechanical engineer, sports follower, gamer, lover of the offbeat, music nut, linuxchick, writer, and social geek.

One thought on “Ubuntu Funness”

  1. congrats! if you ever need any help, live journal has a huge community of free software geeks, as a matter of fact, the software that runs it is free software!

    Remember, if you ever have a question and need help, just ask. If you don’t know how to do something, ask- nothing is too dumb, that’s how you will learn. There are also huge amounts of resources of information available: don’t believe me, google ‘linux command line help’, there will be at least 5-6 relevant sites.

    just be willing to learn, and don’t be easily frustrated (this is what turns a LOT of people off. it isn’t always easy, but effort will provide reward). And, if you figure something else out that doesn’t have good documentation, write some of your own and send it to the developers.

    enough rambling.

Comments are closed.